Neighborhood Improvement Committee

Due to COVID-19, the next regular Neighborhood Improvement Committee Meeting on Tuesday, May 19 will likely be held remotely via Zoom. Additional information will be provided as the date nears.

Any questions you have about the Neighborhood Improvement Committee during this time, please reach out to Mark Kornelis at


In 2013 the City of Holland took the proactive step of combining the Community Development Committee, the Ourstreet Committee, and the Neighborhood Advisory Committee into one new committee, called the Neighborhood Improvement Committee.

The Neighborhood Improvement Committee is an advisory committee to the Holland City Council working for the improvement of Holland’s neighborhoods and housing supply. This Committee focuses on City‐wide and targeted neighborhood programs and policies utilizing the Neighborhood Improvement Strategy, the City’s Master Plan, and other Council‐approved policies as guiding documents. This committee combines the previous work of the Community Development Committee, the Neighborhood Advisory Committee, and the Ourstreet Committee, into the responsibilities of this new Committee.

Additional Information

2020-24 Consolidated Plan and 2020-21 Annual Action Plan

Available for review, public comment period May 4 to June 3: 

Regular Meetings

  • 4 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of every month

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Committee is comprised of the following residents:

  • Steve DeYoung
  • Viola Jackson-Cleveland
  • Lyn Raymond
  • Thomas Shibley
  • Ruth Stegeman
  • Josh Hauch
  • Emmett Brown
  • Jay Van Groningen

  • Raul Garcia, Council Representative
  • Jay Peters, Council Representative
  • Sgt. Weatherwax, City Staff
  • Mark Kornelis, City Staff